Georgia-Cumberland Conference of Seventh-day Adventists

Labor Standards

Employment Classification

Non-exempt employees are covered by regulations set forth in the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) which include minimum wage, overtime pay and record keeping requirements.  

Record Keeping

Minimum Wage

Overtime - (Note computation for fixed salaries with regular or fluctuating hours)


Exempt employees - (See also Teacher exemption)


Independent Contractor or Employee?
Independent Contractor Defined
Independent Contractor or Employee - Publication 15-A (2017)
IRS Brochure
U.S. Department of Labor - Employee or Independent Contractor?

Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) Advisor - Developed by the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) to help employers and employees understand their rights and responsibilities under federal employment laws.

How often must employees be paid?

Georgia and Tennessee codes indicate employees are to be paid at least twice a month while North Carolina employees may be paid once a month.  Please select the appropriate code below for more information.

Georgia (Section 34-7-2) 

North Carolina

Tennessee (Section 50-2-103)

Community Wage Scales


North Carolina



Which labor laws are you required to post?

Federal   Visit the Dept. of Labor Poster Advisor to determine which federal labor law postings are required for the entity.

State   Visit state Dept. of Labor webpages for required state employment postings.


North Carolina


Child Labor Regulations

FLSA Reference Guide